Immediate Release
14 March 2013

YAYA Invites European Entries

(Virtual Press Office) -- European architects can now compete for the prestigious Young Architect of the Year Award (YAYA). Now in its 16th year, YAYA is the only prize that recognises the UK’s most promising new architectural practice and is a crucial means of allowing new practices to emerge.

Previous winners including Niall McLaughlin (1998), Patrick Lynch (2005), Nord (2006), Carmody Groarke (2007) and David Kohn (2009) have gone on to win significant commissions. YAYA is judged by an international panel of architects, clients and others.

Last year’s judges included the artist Pablo Bronstein, Kathryn Firth of the Olympic Delivery Authority and Graham Stirk of Rogers Stirk Harbour Architects.

Speaking at MIPIM, the international property fair in Cannes this week, BD editor in chief Amanda Baillieu said : ‘Over time YAYA has proved itself as a consistently strong means of identifying the most promising young architects of each generation. But, since the prize was launched, the world has changed and the best architects in the UK now have to compete with their counterparts abroad. More than any other, this is a global profession so it makes sense to extend YAYA’s helping hand to the rest of Europe’.

Last year’s winner Phil Coffey of Coffey Architects said:

“Operating as a young architect remains a far from straightforward proposition but YAYA is a crucial means of allowing new practices to emerge. YAYA has changed the practice in three distinct ways: we are being recommended for selected competitions and projects; current and prospective clients feel more confident about the practice’s ability to deliver; and consequently the practice itself is developing and able to undertake larger projects.”

For further info please contact Caro Communications
Antonia Hazlerigg / Laura Berman /
+44 (0) 20 7713 9388

Note to editors

The winner of the 2013 Young Architect of the Year Award will be announced in London in December. Full details of how to enter YAYA 2013 will be on www.bdonline from July 2013.

This award is open to architects that are 40 years old or under on the deadline for entries –July 2013. It carries a cash prize of £5,000.

Entries will also be accepted from practices where the majority of principals are 40 years or younger. If there are only two principals, both need to be 40 or under on the deadline.

Information Supplied by: